Tarts and cereals

Today has been one of those days I’ve just been inside and studying. I woke up at 9 and went for a jog before I ate breakfast. So far I’ve finished my report for the Hakone trip which isn’t even due until the middle of november. I felt like it was time to do it now though before I start ”forgetting” about it and I’ve done at least one report out of a few.  We’re supposed to write a small essay for our graduation book as well (everyone are) and other than that we have a to do another report of whatever topic we want to related to Japan.

The food in Japan is good. The most unfortunate thing is that some things are more expensive than others. Meat for an example is very expensive and so is instant coffe, yoghurt and cereals among other things. I eat yoghurt and cereals every morning and I usually eat the branflakes type for fibres.
Yoghurt is very expensive here compared to Sweden. It costs about 170 yen for like 400g. There yoghurt isn’t the same either as in Sweden. The yoghurt here is like Turkish or Greek yoghurt while the Swedish one is more like a thicker form of milk. Maybe that’s why it’s so expensive. But still, the yoghurt tastes good and all, so except for the price it’s all nice.
The fiber cereals here costs a fortune as well compared to Sweden. I’m not quite sure why though, because Sweden is importing most of the fiber cereals from the US as well. 240 gram of fibre cereals costs about 420 yen, which is really expensive. The package is like half the size of the ones in Sweden as well.


Today though, Kyle went to a US military base here in Tokyo to buy some American food. I asked him to buy some cereals if the package was bigger and cheaper. Of course, it was both bigger and cheaper. It was half the price but double the size which is awesome. I also asked him to buy pop-tarts! The oh so awesome pop-tarts which can’t be bought in Sweden at all. Two packages of pop-tarts is just what I needed!





Tonight I will eat udon and my own vegetable wook mix. The good thing about Japan is that they sell cheap vegetables, at least their own produced ones such as enoki mushrooms, daikon, negi and so on. I’ve noticed that the potatoes however are expensive as hell compared to Sweden, but then again Swedes eat alot more of it just as Japanese eat alot more rice.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0