Kamakura and Enoshima

Last night was a really nice day. Ryosuke, Asami and Natsumi took us on a whole-day-trip to Kamakura and Enoshima. Maki joined us a bit later. We were a lot of JLSP students who went, including the Finnish, French, Swedish, Japanese army among others. Four out of six of the Finns are pretty big, big as in tall and muscular. One of them, Mika, looks like a tower compared to anyone else and acted as a mejirushi, landmark. The Finns are very funny and nice to hang out with since they’re very open and easy to talk to. Asami told me that the first time she saw them, they were standing inside the elevator in the honbu building of Nihon Daigaku and she felt so small and scared.

The first stop was Kamakura. Around 10.30 we were supposed to meet the Japanese at Shinjuku to continue to Kamakura. The train ride took just over one hour and when we finally were there you could see and feel that it was silver week right away, a five day long holiday for all Japanese. There were a lot of people in Kamakura but even though there were a lot it was really fun. Ryosuke, Asami and Natsumi were very helpful and tried to keep track of every one of us so no one would get lost. Kamakura is a very old city where Kamakura shogunate ruled and the first shogun of the Kamakura period was Minamoto no Yoritomo. The buildings of Kamakura are also old and the city has a very nice atmosphere to it. There aren’t any tall buildings here at all, but that’s what makes it so cozy.
In Kamakura there’s, among other things, a really big Shinto shrine, a likewise big Buddhism temple with a huge Buddha statue and so on. On the streets of Kamakura there are a lot of small shops which are selling dango, zembe and other good food.

After Kamakura we went to Enoshima, where we went to the ocean / beach. It was late (around 6 p.m.) so it was pretty dark but very nice. It wasn’t too cold either, especially for me since I’m used to it. Asami and Maki thought it was cold since the wind was blowing while I was thinking that it was enough with a t-shirt. If you are Swedish, you are Swedish I guess. Or maybe it’s just me…
Mark, one of the French, was crazy enough to jump into the water. The water wasn’t that cold and I would’ve probably jumped in there too if I had some extra clothing for it.

Anyway, I will end this post here. I have to get into the shower as I’m going to Machida to have a cup of coffee with Maki. I was supposed to do my home work but Maki offered to help me so why not!
The pictures from this day can be found here: Bilder

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0