Off track

Wowow, the past few days has been really exciting. The day before yesterday I finally got my hands on a cellphone thanks to Ryosuke. The process to get a prepaid cellphone in Japan takes a long time even for a Japanese. It takes about 20 minutes for different kinds of activations and regstrations and since we were two people who wanted a phone it took about 40 minutes before the process was done. The cellphone itself was cheap actually, around 4000 yen but then of course it was a really simple cellphone. Then of course we had to buy credit to charge the cellphone. I finally feel a little bit more Japanese. It’s very handy having a cellphone since all Japanese has one and it’s nice to be able to mail each other. During the evening we were a few people who went to an Izakaya for drinks, food and good time. Since we were going out last night as well, we took it easy however.

Last night David called pretty early and wondered if we were going to do something. I suggested Ginza since I’ve not been there this year. Ginza is like the place you go to if you have loads of money. You notice the difference right away once you step inside a department store and it feels like about the same as if I would walk around in NK or Stureplan in Stockholm to look for clothes. You feel a bit out of place in other words. We didn’t have time to see that much since we had to go back and get ready for tonight’s action.

Anyways, yesterday was really nice, but also horrible to say the least. It started well but ended badly. We went to a Okinawa style Izakaya and it was nomihoudai (drink as much as you want for two hours). Okinawa is known for a special kind of spirit called awamori and the alcohol percentage is like 35%. It was really dangerous I might add. You can drink it very easily since it’s very smooth and you hardly feel anything at all when you drink it. It all started when I challenged the German JLSP student Michael to drink beer in one sweep. Then suddenly we were sweeping awamori instead and it all started to go bananas. Me, Kyle and poor Asami were the ones who fell victim of the awamori.
So after lots of glasses of beer and awamori the night turned to the worse. I’ve never felt that bad as I did yesterday, except for when I graduated from high-school. It was embarrassing actually and throwing up doesn’t make things better.

The time was only like 9.30 p.m. when I was on my way home (I think) and thanks to Gustav who helped me I got home safely. The hangover could’ve been worse though. I’ve drunk more and had worse hangovers than the one today so it’s “alright”. Asami seemed to have a tough night too since she was out cold pretty early together with Kyle. On the brighter side the Okinawa food was really good actually. There was some sort of meat which tasted like ribs but much more epic.

Here are a few pics, with Ginza to begin with






Above is "Pearl King" Kokichi Mikimoto... Whoever that might be.




























Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0